Skip to Main Content

Officers of the Year AACOP 2017


Burns Norwood Thomas.jpg


One early morning of January 2017, a suspect entered a convenience store in Bay, AR and shot the clerk while robbing the store. Bay Police Officer Timothy Burns was one of the first on the scene and began immediately rendering aid to the victim. Sgt. Dustin Norwood of the Craighead County Sheriff’s Department and Medic One relieved Burns and assisted the victim. Officer Logan Thomas, of Trumann Police Department, also was integral in the successful rescue. During the course of the investigation, two other suspects were identified and three were arrested in connection with the robbery and shooting. (This case is still pending in the court system.)

These three men put aside any apprehension and acted quickly to ensure this clerk was able to survive this harrowing ordeal. It is through their swift actions and selflessness that she is alive today. To save a life is the highest achievement in law enforcement, because to protect and serve is what they do. We are proud to know these three men are representing their departments with honor, dignity, and purpose. Congratulations to Officer TJ Burns, Sgt. Dustin Norwood, and Officer Logan Thomas for being selected as Officers of the Year by the Arkansas Association of Chiefs' of Police 2017 "For Courage Beyond Duty". You exemplify what it means to be in law enforcement and we are all very proud to work with you.